Elders and Deacons of the Church

In our churches we have “teaching elders” who are pastors and “ruling elders” who are called from the congregation.    

The word elder stems from the Greek word presbuteros in the New Testament. Each year, faithful members of the congregation are called forth to do the work of ruling elder. Ruling elders make decisions regarding the future of the congregation and oversee the ministry of the pastors and lay people.  

In the New Testament, those who were teaching about Jesus saw that there was great need among the people in addition to learning about the way of Jesus. In order to share the work, people were appointed as deacons to serve those who were sick, poor or in need. The word deacon comes from the Greek word diakonos which means servant. We appoint people in our congregations as deacons to do this important work.  

Current Elders and Deacons:

2022 Egg Hunt

The Session

The Session is the government board of a Presbyterian Church.
The Session consists of elders, elected by the congregation for three-year terms, and the pastor.

Class of 2023
Dan Hayes
Kurt Heiselmoyer
Josh Jablonski

Mary Rodgers

Class of 2024
Robin Nagele
Christy Pietsch
Nancy Wright
Whitney Zylstra

Class of 2025
Greg Jones
Chris Sterman
Betsy Zimmermann

Moderator: Brian Russo
Clerk: Chris Sterman
Assistant Clerk: Kurt Heiselmoyer

Committee and Team Leadership

Adult Education: Betsy Zimmermann
Growth & Outreach: Bob MacFarland & Mary Rodgers
Mission: Christy Pietsch
Next Gen Ministries:  Josh Jablonski & Whitney Zylstra
Nominating: Nancy Wright

Personnel: Stew Beltz & Nancy Wright
Property: Jeff Hinks & Kurt Heiselmoyer
Stewardship & Administration: Don Pizer & Dan Hayes
Worship: Robin Nagele & Wendy Browder

Board of Deacons

The Board of Deacons is responsible for ministries of care and compassion.
Deacons are elected by the congregation for three-year terms.
Student Deacons are elected by the congregation for one-year terms.

Class of 2023
Steve Alexander
Jen Eyre
Brett Pizer
Renee Rufibach
Chip Rupert

Class of 2024
Claire Alderfer
June Hudson
Bob Steck

Class of 2025
Chris Hoyler
Donna Payne

We ask that you continue to keep them and their important leadership in your prayers.